For years, the Towns of Elkin, Jonesville and Ronda, North Carolina discussed and evaluated the potential for consolidating wastewater facilities to ease the ever increasing burden and rising costs of operating a sanitary sewer system. These discussions progressed until a resolution by the towns was adopted on April 19th, 2006 to establish the Yadkin Valley Sewer Authority—with a mission of providing adequate, efficient and cost-effective sewer service to the three towns of Elkin, Jonesville and Ronda.

The Yadkin Valley Sewer Authority is unique in that it not only joins three separate towns cooperating on a single project but also joins their three counties—Surry, Wilkes and Yadkin. The Authority allows Elkin, Jonesville and Ronda to consolidate their wastewater into one central treatment facility and have only one site for discharging treated water into the Yadkin River. The Authority operates under one joint discharge permit, eliminating not only the need for two other permits, but two other discharge sites.

Comments are closed.